PDA

View Full Version : Another Art Fraud?


srosenberg
02-20-2008, 12:21 AM
Thought I would like to share this "proposal" with you.
Anyone got the same invitation?
Steinar.

Dear Client,

Compliment of the season to you......My name is Mr James Raymond I work as a consultant for a fabric company in United Kingdom called (Interface Fabrics Limited).......I browse through an exhibitors site, and i found some details about your Artworks......I'm glad to inform you that i will like to purchase some of your works you have in store right now for one of my client in West Africa....The shipping of the goods will be via Fedex courier services....Once more, i will like to advice you thet the payment of the goods and shipping will be via my credit card ( like VISA or MASTER credit card) so kindly get back to me if you do accept my offers so that we can proceed the order immediately.....Hope to read back from you.....

Web site: - http://www.interfacefabricsgroup.com/home.html
Interface Fabrics (Sales and Customer Service)
Hampton Mills,
Mir field,(jame_raymond@hotmail.com )
West Yorkshire,
WF14 8HE
United Kingdom
TEL: +44-704-576-0021
Best Regards
James Raymond
REPLY TO THE BELOW REPRESENTATIVES ADD:(jame_raymond@hotmail.com)

P.S Reply to this address only: jame_raymond@hotmail.com

markuskruse
02-20-2008, 07:07 AM
that is definitely a fraud. it is the typical 419 scam.... go to google and type in 419 fraud and it will return a bunch of stuff or how they do it... we filter out tons of stuff and have turned half of Nigeria off to be able to send email to our artists because they try every day.

Markus

robertkernodle
02-21-2008, 01:22 PM
That cheesy greeting along with where the guy's from (Africa) and the blatant general mention of "credit card" seems to say "SCAM". You should say, "SCRAM".

Someone wanting your work seemingly would be much more precise in the shipping/payment details at the outset.

Ever see that American commercial where the guy says into the phone, "Top of the mornin' to ya... ohhhhh .... oooooo!" ... ?

Cheese fries, anyone?

schoons
03-01-2008, 12:01 PM
I have received similar emails that go something like this:

"Hope this message finds you well ,I came across your web page while
searching for good artworks . I must tell you that your artwork touched me instantly. I\'d been searching the web for art, and everything seemed so one dimensional, except for yours. Beautiful!, i will like to buy some of these creative artworks directly from you which i think will be perfect for my wall which are

(titles of requested artwork were listed here)

I will be happy to have these selected artworks in our new home.What
are their prices exclusive of shipping cost? We are moving from our
Alabama home to our new apartment in London, I will appreciate an earlier reply. Thanks.
Best Regards
Jenny Keith"

I just delete them. sad and annoying.

ldrumonde
03-19-2008, 01:28 AM
Hello i can relate to fraudulant messages from Africa,and U.K.
Please be careful if there are questions about textile companies not certified.
They can be misleading and dangerious.

photonnut
04-03-2009, 09:40 AM
I just happened to log in to your blogging and I guess I better ask. Is this one a fraud? 123 greetings.com? I just got an email on my website from a Kevin at 123greetings-inc.com and he wants me to upload photos and share them in the form of ecards. Thought I better ask.....

c.a. hoffman

mikebell
04-28-2009, 10:16 AM
Just had email through the website from brandon5079@yahoo.com.
Enquiring re Artworks etc so vague almost certainly scam/Fraud.
Anyone else had one from this address?